The Darkness To Release New Album

They've won multiple awards, have platinum albums, and have toured the globe numerous times, and now The Darkness are back with their fifth album, Pinewood Smile, slated for an October 6th release via Cooking Vinyl. Announcing the album today, they also unveiled the albums opener, 'All The Pretty Girls', which is available across all streaming platforms. You can also download the song with pre-orders of the album as an instant gratification track or check it out below.

The single is a hard-rockin' anthem, discussing the amount of female attention you get when you're a rock star, and discussing the ethical conundrums that come with that. As Justin Hawkins so sings; “All the pretty girls, like me for who I am / All the pretty girls, when the record goes platinum / Plenty of action, massive attraction, when you’re selling out stadiums / All the pretty girls… and their mums”.

Addressing the forthcoming album and The Darkness’ undoubted relevance in 2017, Justin asks, “Why should anybody care? Because if you don't, we're fucked!! History will remember us as the apathetic generation who negligently ushered in a dreadful dystopian age that may or may not come to be known as ‘The Rise of the Arseclowns’. We cannot allow this to continue! You may not give a shit about Brexit or Trump, but PLEASE... give a shit about The Darkness otherwise the last bastion of cultural sensibility will fall and our airwaves will be polluted by meaningless pop purveyed by arseholes and morons... Oh wait!

You can pre-order Pinewood Smile here. The album will be out October 6 via Cooking Vinyl.

PINEWOOD SMILE TRACK LISTING: 01. All The Pretty Girls 02. Buccaneers Of Hispaniola 03. Solid Gold 04. Southern Trains 05. Why Don't The Beautiful Cry? 06. Japanese Prisoner Of Love 07. Lay Down With Me, Barbara 08. I Wish I Was In Heaven 09. Happiness 10. Stampede Of Love

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Follow us on:

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon