Act Of Defiance ft. ex Megadeth Members To Release New Album

Their 2015 debut album Birth And The Burial showed fans exactly what Act of Defiance were all about - pure and unadulterated metal that ignored fads and hit home hard. Now, the metal band, which features Chris Broderick on guitar, Henry Derek on vocals, Shawn Drover on drums and Matt Bachand on bass, will be looking to replicate the success with their new album, Old Scars, New Wounds, which has been slated for a September 29th release.

You can pre-order the album now here. At the link you can also hear intro track 'M.I.A.'

The title - plucked from the blistering track "Conspiracy Of The Gods" - stands as a metaphor for life in general, and the breadth of lyrical matter covered is as broad as the styles of heavy music found on the record. "Another Killing Spree" looks at hardcore drug use, while "Lullaby Of Vengeance" is an angry song about singing angry lyrics, and "Overexposure" is an anthem dedicated to not selling out. There is also some very topical material, most notably on "Mis-Information Age" and "Broken Dialect”.

"'Mis-Information Age' is very applicable in today's social climate, where we can no longer blindly trust the source of facts that determine our view,"Broderick explains. "It asserts that we should be skeptical, making sure we have the truth and not someone's propaganda, while 'Broken Dialect' conveys the idea that people can no longer hold a conversation with each other where their views differ, instead turning to sources that only support the view they want to hold on to."

With every track featuring a blistering solo from Broderick, fans of his shredding can rest assured that the guitarist has not held back - though that was not his initial intention. "I actually wanted to tone it down a bit technically in terms of my solos, but the opposite happened! This was because I inadvertently ended up creating a few new techniques to use in my trick bag and saw their potential, so I worked really hard on the execution so they could make the record."

Old Scars, New Wounds track-listing: 1. M.I.A. 2. Molten Core 3. Overexposure 4. The Talisman 5. Lullaby of Vengeance 6. Circle of Ashes 7. Reborn 8. Conspiracy of the Gods 9. Another Killing Spree 10. Broken Dialect 11. Rise of Rebellion

Pre-orders for Old Scars, New Wounds are available now here!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts